Overcast · 64°
Welcome to the new Worth County website!

Mendez/Hardy Arrests

posted on 9/21/19

At approximately 1:23 am on September 21, 2019 the Worth County Sheriff’s Office was notified of a vehicle pursuit southbound from Freeborn County, MN. The pursuit continued to the 214 mile marker on Interstate 35 in Worth County where it was then terminated. Shortly after the pursuit was terminated the fleeing vehicle was found in the ditch at the 217 northbound mile marker. The vehicle was unoccupied. A drone was used to locate two individuals hiding in a bean field near the intersection of Marks Hill Rd and Hickory Avenue. Subsequently Nena Hardy, 22, of Albert Lea was taken into custody for possession of a controlled substance and is being held at the Worth County Jail on a $1000 bond. Rodolfo Valdez, 22, of Albert Lea was also taken into custody for an out of state warrant and is being held at the Worth County Jail with no bond.

Those assisting at the scene included the Worth County Sheriff’s Office, Freeborn County Sheriff’s Office and the Albert Lea Police Department. All subjects are presumed innocent until proven guilty in a court of law.

More News

Shell Rock River Watershed Press Release

posted 7/12/22 · Board of Supervisors


posted 7/5/22 · Board of Supervisors New State Law for Off-Road and All-Terrain Vehicles

Single Vehicle Accident - Northwood

posted 6/22/22 · Sheriff

Get on Board and Renew Your Iowa Boat Registration

posted 4/1/22 · Recorder Put your boat back in the water and put more fun in your life. Getting on the water is safe and easy, with plenty of public access ramps at waterways near you. The water is waiting — all that's missing is you and your boat. Renew your registration today.

Zoning Notice to Landowners

posted 3/9/22 · Planning and Zoning A letter to inform the public of the intent by the Zoning Commission to recommend that the County Board of Supervisors extend the current Zoning Ordinance to apply to the unincorporated areas of all the townships in the county, versus just the three townships currently under zoning (Hartland, Brookfield, and Danville).