January 2, 2025 First Day

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with Enos Loberg, Mark Smeby and A.J. Stone, present. All members voting "AYE" unless noted.

Meeting called to order by Stone, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion Loberg/Second Smeby, to appoint Mark Smeby as Chairperson for 2025. Motion carried.

Motion Stone/Second Smeby, to appoint Enos Loberg as Vice-Chairperson for 2025. Motion carried.

Motion Stone/Second Smeby to approve today's agenda and minutes from December 23, 2024 meetings. Motion carried.

Motion Loberg/Second Stone to appoint Sue Loken to the County Zoning Commission. Aye-Loberg, Nay-Stone and Smeby. Motion failed. There was discussion regarding coverage of all supervisor districts. The Board will continue to accept applications and vote again at a later date.

Motion Loberg/Second Stone to re-appoint Jeff Gorball to the County Zoning Commission. Aye-Loberg, Stone. Nay – Smeby. Motion carried.

Motion Stone/Second Smeby, that the following appointments be made: County Board of Health (3year) – Stephanie Perkins; Commission of Veteran Affairs (3-year) – Phillip Hackbart; Weed Commissioner (1year) – Michael Bode; Conservation Board (5-year) – Sam Walk; County Eminent Domain Compensation Board (1-year) - Realtor: Michael Romig, Julie Robb, Kris Gordon, Chad Nelson, Brett Heimbuch, Andrea Lee; Owner Operators of Agriculture Property: Andy Tenold, David Hengesteg, Steve Davidson, Arlo Rugland, Earl Trenhaile, Tim Enderson, Ron Davidson; Owners of City or Town Property: Dick Bruns, David Bang, Terry Steinmetz, Laura Sabby, Jane Podgorniak, Steve Wise, Roger Rustad; Persons Having Knowledge of Property Values: Jerry Olson, Tyson Robb, David Irons, Aaron Carman, Ben Tweeten, Dan Reeder, Larry M. Johnson; County Zoning Commission (3-year) – Jeff Gorball; Zoning Board of Adjustment (5-year) – Dan Robb; Civil Service Commission (6-year) – Dan Fank, Jerry Olson; Care Connections of Northern Iowa Governing Board (1-year) - A.J. Stone, Enos Loberg; Winn Worth Betco Advisory Board (3-year) - Enos Loberg; Board of Directors – Second Judicial District – Department of Correctional Services (1-year) – Enos Loberg, A.J. Stone; North Iowa Regional Housing Authority (5-year) – Enos Loberg; NIACOG (1-year) – A.J. Stone, Mark Smeby, Scott Heagel, Merlin Bartz; Transportation Policy Board (1-year) – Mark Smeby, Melissa Michaelis; NIACOG Revolving Loan Fund Committee (1-year) - Chad Nelson; North Iowa Transition and Employment Services, Inc. (2-year) – Mark Smeby, A.J. Stone; Airport Zoning Ordinance Board of Adjustment - A.J. Stone; Shell Rock River Watershed Management Coalition (1-year) - A.J. Stone, Jim Hanson; Winnebago River Watershed Management Authority (1-year) – Mark Smeby. Motion carried.

Motion Loberg/Second Stone, to re-appoint Rich Brumm as County Engineer. Motion carried.

Motion Stone/Second Smeby, that Rich Brumm is hereby authorized and empowered on behalf of the Worth County Supervisors to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance with plans and specifications therefore in connection with all Farm to Market construction projects in the county, adopt a resolution to comply with provisions of the 1970 Uniform Relocation Assistance and Land Acquisition Policies Act as amended by Title IV of the Surface Transportation and Uniform Relocation Assistance Act of 1987; that in accordance with county engineer recommendation, that for secondary road projects, ROW payments be 3 ½ times the 100% valuation, fence removed be \$18.00/rod for barbed-wire and \$32.00/rod for woven wire, and crop damage to be \$1,400.00/acre for corn and \$850.00/acre for all other crops. Motion carried.

Motion Loberg/Second Stone, that the County Auditor be authorized to pay the following bills during a meeting adjournment. Motion carried.

- 1. Salaries and payroll previously approved by the board.
- 2. Insurance payments and unemployment quarterly report payments.
- 3. Emergency expenses deemed necessary by the County Auditor.

Motion Stone/Second Loberg to approve drainage claims in the amount of \$63,464.37 as per the following schedule. Motion carried.

County Line Drainage	DD 6 Lat 9	Repairs	\$14,512.75
County Line Drainage	DD 6 Lat 9	Repairs	\$5,825.00
County Line Drainage	DD 6 Lat 9	Repairs	\$1,225.00
County Line Drainage	DD 6 Lat 9	Repairs	\$5,438.62
County Line Drainage	DD 6 Lat 9	Repairs	\$3,860.00
County Line Drainage	DD 77 Main	Repairs	\$21,173.00
County Line Drainage	DD 77 Main	Repairs	\$7,180.00
County Line Drainage	DD 77 Lat 2	Repairs	\$4,250.00
- -		Grand Total	\$63,464.37

Motion Stone/Second Loberg to approve the monthly clerk of court report. Motion carried.

Motion Loberg/Second Stone to acknowledge salary change for Shana Butler to \$81,120/year and Lexee Anderson to \$78,000/year and Laura Block at \$16.00/hour as submitted by public health. Motion carried.

Motion Stone/Second Loberg, to approve #2025-01. Roll call: Stone – Aye; Loberg – Aye; Smeby – Aye. Motion carried.

## RESOLUTION #2025-01 CONSTRUCTION EVALUATION RESOLUTION

**WHEREAS**, Iowa Code section 459.304(3) sets out the procedure if a board of supervisors wishes to adopt a "construction evaluation resolution" relating to the construction of a confinement feeding operation structure; and

**WHEREAS,** only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution can submit to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) an adopted recommendation to approve or disapprove a construction permit application regarding a proposed confinement feeding operation structure; and

**WHEREAS**, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution and submitted an adopted recommendation may contest the DNR's decision regarding a specific application; and

**WHEREAS,** by adopting a construction evaluation resolution the board of supervisors agrees to evaluate every construction permit application for a proposed confinement feeding operation structure received by the board of supervisors between February 1, 2025 and January 31, 2026 and submit an adopted recommendation regarding that application to the DNR; and

**WHEREAS**, the board of supervisors must conduct an evaluation of every construction permit application using the master matrix created in Iowa Code section 459.305, but the board's recommendation to the DNR may be based on the final score on the master matrix or may be based on reasons other than the final score on the master matrix;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF WORTH

**COUNTY** that the Board of Supervisors hereby adopts this construction evaluation resolution pursuant to Iowa Code section 459.304(3).

Adopted this 2<sup>nd</sup> day of January 2025.

Mark Smeby, Chair, Worth County Board of Supervisors

ATTEST: Jacki A. Backhaus, Worth County Auditor

Motion Stone/Second Loberg, to approve that \$16.00 will be the hourly rate paid by the courthouse for Fiscal Year 2026, effective July 1, 2025. Motion carried.

Motion Loberg/Second Stone that the Northwood Anchor and Manly Junction Signal be designated the official county newspapers for 2025. Motion carried.

Motion Loberg/Second Stone, to approve \$.70/mile as the mileage rate for 2025, effective January 1, 2025. Motion carried.

Motion Stone/Second Loberg, to approve the county daily meal reimbursement rate at \$38/day for 2025. Motion carried.

Motion Loberg/Second Stone to approve 2023-03-24 Central Iowa Detention Center 28E Agreement. Motion carried.

	Motion Loberg/Second	Stone, carried to	o adjourn at 9:14 A.M.	Motion carried.
Jacki A	. Backhaus		Mark Smeby	
Auditor			Chairperson	