January 2, 2024

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with Mark Smeby, Enos Loberg and A.J. Stone, present. All members voting "AYE" unless noted.

Meeting called to order by Loberg, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion Loberg/Second Smeby, to appoint A.J. Stone as Chairperson for 2024. Motion carried.

Motion Stone/Second Loberg, to appoint Mark Smeby as Vice-Chairperson for 2024. Motion carried.

Motion Smeby/Second Loberg to approve today's agenda and minutes from December 26, 2023 meetings. Motion carried.

Motion Loberg/Second Smeby, that the following appointments be made: County Board of Health (3year) - Nicole Sheffield; Commission of Veteran Affairs (3-year) - Debra Herweyer; Weed Commissioner (1year) - Michael Bode; Conservation Board(5-year) - Troy Christiansen; County Eminent Domain Compensation Board(1-year) – Realtor: Myron Lupkes, Michael Romig, Julie Robb, Kris Gordon, Clara Hegeland, Chad Nelson, Brett Heimbuch; Owner Operators of Agriculture Property: Paul Tenold, David Hengesteg, Steve Davidson, Arlo Rugland, Earl Trenhaile, Tim Enderson, Ron Davidson; Owners of City or Town Property: Dick Bruns, David Bang, Terry Steinmetz, Laura Sabby, Jane Podgorniak, Steve Wise, Roger Rustad; Persons Having Knowledge of Property Values: Jerry Olson, Tyson Robb, David Irons, Aaron Carman, Ben Tweeten, Dan Reeder, Larry M. Johnson,; County Zoning Commission (3-year) – Justin Faber, Kathryn Meyer, Todd Rothove; Zoning Board of Adjustment (5-year) - David Quisley; Care Connections of Northern Iowa Governing Board (1-year) - A.J. Stone, Enos Loberg; North Iowa Long Term Disaster Recovery Committee - Enos Loberg, Mark Tomlinson, Melissa Michaelis; Board of Directors - Second Judicial District Department of Correctional Services (1-year) – Enos Loberg, A.J. Stone; Central Iowa Tourism Region Representative (5-year) – Jean Stowell; North Iowa Regional Housing Authority (5-year) – Constance Toft-Butler; NIACOG (1-year) – A.J. Stone, Mark Smeby, Scott Heagel, Merlin Bartz; Transportation Policy Board (1-year) – Mark Smeby, Melissa Michaelis; NIACOG Revolving Loan Fund Committee (1-year) – Chad Nelson; Upper Cedar Watershed Management Improvement Authority (4-year) – Enos Loberg; Shell Rock River Watershed Management Coalition (1-year) – A.J. Stone; Winnebago River Watershed Management Authority (1-Year) – Mark Smeby. Motion carried.

Motion Smeby/Second Loberg, to re-appoint Rich Brumm as County Engineer. Motion carried.

Motion Loberg/Second Smeby, that Rich Brumm is hereby authorized and empowered on behalf of the Worth County Supervisors to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance with plans and specifications therefore in connection with all Farm to Market construction projects in the county, adopt a resolution to comply with provisions of the 1970 Uniform Relocation Assistance and Land Acquisition Policies Act as amended by Title IV of the Surface Transportation and Uniform Relocation Assistance Act of 1987; that in accordance with county engineer recommendation, that for secondary road projects, ROW payments be 3 ½ times the 100% valuation, fence removed be \$18.00/rod for barbed-wire and \$32.00/rod for woven wire, and crop damage to be \$1,400.00/acre for corn and \$850.00/acre for all other crops. Motion carried.

Motion Loberg/Second Smeby, that the County Auditor be authorized to pay the following bills during a meeting adjournment. Motion carried.

- 1. Salaries and payroll previously approved by the board.
- 2. Insurance payments and unemployment quarterly report payments.
- 3. Emergency expenses deemed necessary by the County Auditor.

Motion Smeby/Second Loberg to approve drainage claims in the amount of \$787.00 as per the following schedule. Motion carried.

Jo Ann E Stevens Family Trust	DD 2 Main	Damages	\$337.00
Jonah E Tasker	DD 2 Main	Damages	\$300.00
James D Nelson Revocable	DD 2 Main	Damages	<u>\$150.00</u>
		Grand Total	\$787.00

Motion Loberg/Second Smeby to approve work order for DD 11 F submitted by Jay Hopperstad. Motion carried.

Motion Smeby/Second Loberg, to approve Annual Construction Evaluation Resolution. Roll call: Loberg – Aye; Smeby – Aye; Stone – Aye. Motion carried.

RESOLUTION #2024-01 CONSTRUCTION EVALUATION RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Iowa Code section 459.304(3) sets out the procedure if a board of supervisors wishes to adopt a "construction evaluation resolution" relating to the construction of a confinement feeding operation structure; and

WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution can submit to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) an adopted recommendation to approve or disapprove a construction permit application regarding a proposed confinement feeding operation structure; and

WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution and submitted an adopted recommendation may contest the DNR's decision regarding a specific application; and

WHEREAS, by adopting a construction evaluation resolution the board of supervisors agrees to evaluate every construction permit application for a proposed confinement feeding operation structure received by the board of supervisors between February 1, 2024 and January 31, 2025 and submit an adopted recommendation regarding that application to the DNR; and

WHEREAS, the board of supervisors must conduct an evaluation of every construction permit application using the master matrix created in Iowa Code section 459.305, but the board's recommendation to the DNR may be based on the final score on the master matrix or may be based on reasons other than the final score on the master matrix;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF WORTH

COUNTY that the Board of Supervisors hereby adopts this construction evaluation resolution pursuant to Iowa Code section 459.304(3).

Date: January 2, 2024

Aaron Stone Chair, Board of Supervisors

ATTEST: Jacki A. Backhaus, County Auditor

Motion Smeby/Second Loberg, to approve that \$15.75 will be the hourly rate paid by the courthouse for Fiscal Year 2025, effective July 1, 2024. Motion carried.

Motion Smeby/Second Loberg that the Northwood Anchor and Manly Junction Signal be designated the official county newspapers for 2024. Motion carried.

Motion Smeby/Second Loberg, to approve \$.67/mile as the mileage rate for 2024, effective January 1, 2024. Motion carried.

Motion Smeby/Second Loberg, to approve the county daily meal reimbursement rate at \$38/day for 2024. Motion carried.

Motion Smeby/Second Loberg to approve the annual adjustment of compensation per the Operations and Maintenance Agreement dated July 27,2022 between PeopleService Inc. and Worth County, Iowa. Motion carried.

Motion Loberg/Second Smeby, carried to adjourn at 9:02 A.M. Motion carried.

Jacki A. Backhaus Auditor Aaron Stone Chairperson