July 12, 2023 Special Meeting - EMS Workshop w/District 3 Mayors, Trustees and Clerks - 6:30 P.M.

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with Enos Loberg and Mark Smeby, present. Also present were: Nick Bailey, Fertile Mayor; Ron Miller, Joice Councilmember; Brett Backhaus, Joe Thompson and Justin Faber, Danville Township Trustees; Dwight Bruns, Randy Oswald and Andrew Hansen, Fertile Township Trustees; Peter Brattrud, Fertile Township Clerk; Dan Martinson, Doug Arneson and Eliot Evans, Bristol Township Trustees; Bruce Burdick, Bristol Township Clerk; Larry Maher, Mike Thompson and Rob Nelson, Silver Lake Township Trustees, Allan Wogen, Silver Lake Township Clerk; Jesse Luther, Chief Deputy Sheriff; Joe Klukow, April Gambell and Lee Dutcher, Forest City Ambulance; Kris Kenison, Media and Jacki Backhaus, Worth County Auditor

Meeting called to order by Loberg.

Everyone in attendance introduced themselves.

Enos then discussed what has happened up to this point regarding EMS. Questions from those in attendance were answered by Loberg and Smeby. One of the questions was about the Board of Supervisors agreeing to use ARPA \$ for the first year of ambulance service to give the cities and townships time to enter agreements and figure out how they were going to help pay for the service. It was explained that the Board had not yet decided if they were going to use the ARPA \$ for that service. They encouraged the cities and townships to come up with their plans sooner rather than later, or everyone will be in the same spot a year from now when the County may not have money to fill the gap.

Joe Klukow explained what Forest City Ambulance would provide to the townships/cities.

The cities and townships were encouraged to enter into 28E agreements with Forest City Ambulance.

There was a concensus that there needs to be more discussion between the Board, Mayors and Township Trustees. Another meeting will be set at a later date.

Motion Smeby/Second Loberg to adjourn the workshop at 7:38 P.M. Motion carried.

Jacki A. Backhaus Auditor Enos Loberg Chairperson